Guess who’s back?

Well, hello there! Who would have thought that it would literally take a global Chinese pandemic to get me back into writing?

Quarantine has left me with a lot of time in my hands, and even so my lazy ass couldn’t get back to my favorite hobby that is writing. But wait, today’s your lucky day, dear reader!

I’m back with a banger as I’d be doing the Mystery Blogger Award today. Now, I’ve gone on record before that I won’t be posting anymore award post, but back then, I didn’t anticipate a global plague threatening human life either.

So when my dearest best friend, my undoubtedly favorite blogger, and an incredibly sweet, sensible and intelligent human being Aa’eedah nominated me for this award, I decided to dust myself off, get up and write this post.

Now not only will this post act as a comeback post but it will also give you a peep into my thought process in the current day, my blogging plans for the quarantine and an outlet for me to interact with you wonderful and lovely people once again!

So without wasting any further award, let’s get right into this award.

The Mystery Blogger Award is an unofficial award. This award was created by Okoto Enigmas, to show love to his followers and keep bloggers in touch with one another. This award is a good source of motivation and inspiration for the fresh bloggers.

The rules for the Award:

  1. Put the award logo/image on your post.
  2. List the rules.
  3. Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  4. Mention the creator of this award.
  5. Answer the 5 questions you were asked.
  6. Tell your readers 3 things about you.
  7. Nominate 10-20 bloggers.
  8. Notify your nominees by commenting on their blog.
  9. Ask your nominees 5 questions of your choice.
  10. Share a link to your best post(s).

Answering Aa’eedah’s questions:

  1.  Who’s your favourite poet/writer? Why?

My favorite writer of all time is undoubtedly Munshi Prem Chand. He lived more than a hundred years ago in British India and was known for his patriotic fervor and sharp satire of the contemporary Indian culture. The best thing I like about his writings is that even after a hundred years, all of his writings still hold up, nothing has aged terribly. The societal evils he has discussed are still present in one form or the other. He, in my opinion, is the only person who understood Indian Culture A to Z, or rather I should say अ to ज्ञ.

2. What kind of music are you into?

Hip-Hop/Rap, particularly the West Coast Stuff in the 90s. I also like R&B, Pop (Michael Jackson) and Bollywood songs of the mid 2000s.

3.  What does ‘faith’ mean to you?

Do you know the phrase “I’m telling you this in good faith”? Here, good faith means that I have trust in you in regards to the information I’m gonna share with you. So, for me, faith is all about trust. If I have faith in God, I trust him to do well in the world, if I have faith in you, I trust you. So, in a way, faith lets me get close with people, concepts, objects and philosophies.

4. Suggest ways to make our Earth, and eventually our life, better.

The current lockdown of the world seems to have quite a positive effect on Mother Nature. Endangered species coming back to sight, clearer skies and all in all a better atmosphere, it is all due to less vehicles on the road, less factory production etc.

If we can learn to live like this more often, use the stuff we only really need, travel by a motor vehicle only when it’s really necessary and go minimalist, we can continue to reduce the burden on Mother Earth.

Further, we can also observe lockdowns such as the ones we’re having now every once a week or two, just to keep things in check and also reflect upon what we’re doing as a species.

5. Tell us one peculiar law of your country.

A law that I find to be extremely peculiar is that Marijuana is illegal, however, Bhaang ki Golis, which use marijuana paste as an ingredient, are legal as they’re supposed to be an offering to the Almighty Lord Shiva.

Many families where none of the members use any kind of drugs also offer Bhaang and Datura to Lord Shiva. It is never really about consumption, it is about how we perceive things. What kind of sane government outlaws a harmless little (even sacred) plant? I think it is particularly peculiar that in one form, it is considered sacred, and in another form, it is illegal.

If I were in charge, I’d legalize weed in a second.


Now that I’ve finished answering, here’s my favorite post of my own of all time:

6 Shitty WordPress Hacks (That Actually Work)

Enjoy the ride, it’s a comedy, folks!

I would like to nominate anyone who is reading this to make a post about it, the questions remain same, as I could, in no possible way, shape or form come up with a questionnaire better than the incredibly thoughtful and talented Aa’eedah. You have got to check her blog. If you like poetry, you’ll love her page, if you don’t like poetry, you’ll fall in love with it once you visit her page.

This is it for this post. Tell me how you have been in the comments section below. I’d be especially interested to know how you’re spending your time in quarantine. I look forward to having great conversations once again here on WordPress. 🙂

Much Love,

SG